TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Crafty: Ikea Koja Tent Door

Posted in crafty, kids by Allie on March 25, 2011

I’m generally not an Ikea Hacker, but the Koja tent Buddy-O got for Christmas just begs to be embellished. We’ve already added some soft padding, a homemade quilt, and even some hanging stars (that were promptly ripped down). And now–the tent has a door!

.

Please overlook the wonky placement. Though the door itself was very easy to make, the attachment to the tent was harder than I expected. I basted, I sewed, I ripped, I sewed again, but still the door is pulling to the left. I suspect it has something to do with how the fabric is stretched once the tent is up. Now that I have a walking foot for my machine, I may take it down and reattach, but really I think I can live with it.

The door is just a rectangle of fabric finished with some double-fold bias tape. I hand-stitched it on because that was the look I was going for, but you could easily bind it by machine and save yourself some time. The ties are extra pieces of bias tape. Remember when attaching the door to put one side of the tie on the outside of the fabric and one on the inside or you won’t be able to tie the fabric up once its rolled. (You should have a tent, tie, door/fabric, tie sandwich before attaching.)

C’est fini!

..

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

