TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Shampoo, Showers and Soap: Part 2

Posted in Just Sayin' by Allie on February 12, 2011

Last Sunday marked 4 weeks of no shampoo, and to celebrate–I washed my hair.

And it. Was. Glorious.

20110206-DSC_6623

(Above: The before: my hair after 4 weeks of no shampoo.)

The only thing I could say for my hair after this experiment was that it looked pretty good…for not having washed it in 4 weeks. And really, if I need that kind of qualifier, I think we have a problem.

20110206-DSC_6601

(Above: Still before. The ends are fine, but note the yucky greasy top.)

It’s true, no one pulled me aside and spoke to me about hygiene issues (except my mom, but that’s what moms are for, right?!), but also no one exclaimed, "My god! Your hair! It’s a miracle! How DO you do it?!"

And no, I didn’t jump right back into the evil sudsy, detergenty shampoo. I went back to (the rather expensive) No Poo, which we had open at home.  After washing my hair Sunday I was able to rinse it Wednesday (after swimming) with just water and a bit of conditioner and it felt fine. it was fine for a day, but I had to wash it again on Friday evening. Today it’s a bit fluffy for my taste. If I were a shower-every-day kind of person, I’d be off to the races using conditioner for everyday cleansing and No Poo once a week or so, but if you’ll remember, my ultimate goal with this experiment is to be able to shower less and so my hair needs to look good for longer.

20110212-DSC_6724

(After: Bangs! No greasiness!)

And truthfully, the difference is minimal. You may look at the before photos and think my hair looks fine, but I felt gross. And not because I’ve been indoctrinated into loving that freshly shampooed feeling. I am craving the weight of the no shampoo hair, but without shampoo I couldn’t wear my bangs down, and the back of my head was just outright greasy.

So I’m going to keep experimenting with the formula. If I could just figure out a way to cleanse the hair close to my scalp with something completely natural like aloe or mint or whatever, I’d be a happy-no-shampoo camper. But my hair needs something.

The proof is in the shampoo.

20110212-DSC_6732

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Charley said, on February 16, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    I’ve considered doing this so many times but I’m just not sure I could deal with the grease factor, I’ve heard it works really well if you have curly or really wavy hair. Let us know if you find a way!

  2. […] without shampoo and felt (and looked) dirty and gross, so I celebrated at the end of 4 weeks by washing my hair? Compare said fiasco to this picture: day 4 of castile soap and my hair is still looking […]

  3. […] without shampoo and felt (and looked) dirty and gross, so I celebrated at the end of 4 weeks by washing my hair? Compare said fiasco to this picture: day 4 of castile soap and my hair is still looking […]


Leave a Reply

