TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Gals, I need your help!

Posted in on fashion by Allie on October 28, 2010

Gals (and guys), this is too long for a tweet, so let’s take a moment to discuss my First World Problems. I am having serious vanity-fueled issues in the department of buying jeans. I run; I’m fit; I’m a mom who likes to look good, so I like to own well fitting clothing that show off my assets. I’m set for dresses, skirts and dress pants, but with jeans I am at a loss. I hate that fresh-out-of-the-wash sausage casing feeling, so when I buy my jeans, I pick a pair that’s a bit snug, but not tight. The problem? About 3 hours later the jeans are baggy and unsexy, and in some cases I can even pull them off without undoing the button. Even my newest pair of Gap i-deserve-jeans-that-fit jeans seem too big. Should I have gone down a size?

Do you have to lie down to put on your jeans if you want them to look good for more than a day? Are pant stretching lunges really necessary? Or is this all normal?

Help!

Tagged with: ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marne said, on October 29, 2010 at 8:34 am

    okay so I hear ya loud and clear, you need to go to THE SUPERSTORE- and try on some of the JOE FRESH jeans, I know odd to covet jeans from a grocery store conglomorate BUT they run big so a size 6 fits a size 10 FOR FUN! and they are the most comfortable non low rise ( so no muffin top making) good to go jeans for only 30 bucks. I swear by them.
    Good Luck sista

    • Allie said, on October 29, 2010 at 9:05 am

      See, I have a pair of Joe jeans. Same problem. And because they run large they’re always out of the small sizes by the time I get there. (I love Joe though! Great kids’ clothes too!)

  2. Natalie said, on October 29, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Totally, totally understand this problem. I hate shopping for jeans, I always thought it was my weird body shape but I’m talking to more and more women who have the same problem. They just don’t look good after the first wear, like you said they go all baggy and annoying.

    The only pair I ever found that fit remotely well were actually from Topshop, a super skinny cut with quite a bit of stretch. So not your traditional denim jeans but I like them. I find that I have to make sure the waist is high up enough so that they don’t get pulled down by the wiggle of my hips as I walk.

    As for gap ones: I invested in a pair last year, and I bought them a size too small and they fit much better than the other bigger ones I own.

    Keep hunting and you will one day find the elusive perfect fit! I’m holding out hope.

  3. Twwly said, on November 2, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Unless I buy them so tight I can hardly do them up, they look saggy baggy after a day of wear. And I like to wear my jeans until they are SO filthy they actually walk to the washing machine themselves.

    • Allie said, on November 2, 2010 at 7:12 pm

      Twwly: Thanks. Good to know. Your jeans always look fabulous.


Leave a Reply

