TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Ringley Revamp

Posted in crafty by Allie on March 21, 2010

 

Craftin

When I bought this Ringley for Peanut I knew it was hand wash only, but I didn’t think it would be much of an issue. The lady at Baby on the Hip seemed surprised that I even had reservations about it not being machine washable. Ringley has machine washable options, but they were quite a bit larger, which wasn’t what I wanted. In any case, because it’s such a popular item, I reasoned the hand wash thing wouldn’t be a problem.

20100306-DSC_4417

Goodness!–this thing gets dirty. And fast. Capital DUR, capital TEE. I hand washed it once, but I didn’t really feel like I was getting into all the nooks and crannies of the terrycloth, and then it took forever to dry. Something had to be done.

This isn’t a great before picture, but there’s a seam right here…

20100306-DSC_4417_1

…which prevents you from sticking the whole thing in the wash. I undid the seam and set to work refashioning it, and figured in the worst case, I would just sew it back up.

After taking a multitude of before shots as I was untying it so I was sure I could retie it after the wash, I sewed in a piece of velcro, and voila!

20100308-DSC_4544

20100308-DSC_4548

20100308-DSC_4543

Peanut hasn’t noticed a difference, and I get to wash it more frequently. Success!

Tagged with: , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shaindy said, on March 21, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I love this :). Thanks for your creativity. I am a local in Toronto and the creator of RiNGLEY. I have thought of making all the RiNGLEY products with velcro but this would increase the price and I really want to keep RiNGLEY products as reasonable as possible. RiNGLEY straight (as seen above) and knotted are the originals and retail for $16. The newer products that have added features (ie. rattle/velco) retail for $18-$20.

    Sleep well,
    Shaindy
    http://www.ringley.ca

    • Allie said, on March 29, 2010 at 7:56 am

      I think RiNGLEY straight is perfect as it is; it gives us creative-types something to do. ;)

  2. Twwly said, on March 24, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Had one of those, always chucked the whole thing in the wash. It was fine. It never occurred to me to check the washing directions, or not to stick it in the machine with everything else. Nice fix though!!!

  3. Hester said, on January 5, 2015 at 1:03 am

    Deep thinking – adds a new dioeisnmn to it all.


Leave a Reply

