TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Of Note: Alberta + a tutorial

Posted in Of Note on Etsy, on Canada by Allie on March 10, 2010

First, a mini Etsy tutorial. Sometimes, you’ll follow one of my links, and find that–oh no!–the item has “sold out”, like so:

And I’m sure you’re all aw, MAN! and go straight to close your tab–BUT WAIT! Don’t despair just yet! There’s something funny about the way Etsy works, and it seems sellers have to add items one at a time, so usually, these items are not actually sold out! There are two ways for you to find what I linked to, and what (hopefully) you still get to purchase! Hooray! Okay, so the example I posted is pretty self-explanatory, but let’s go through the steps anyway.

1. Check the “other items available from *insert store name here*” section in pink.

In this case, oh look!–the item is listed right there. You can just click it and buy it up! All up! Sometimes, you won’t be that lucky and you’ll have to do some digging.

2. Out of habit, I always click on the “# items for sale” link, but you can also browse through the “seller’s other items” pictures. I always like to click through the seller’s other stuff to see (duh) what else they have!–but this is also a way to find that item that happened to sell out. You can also use the “shop” link to be linked back to the seller’s homepage.

Okay. Get it? Good.

ALBERTA!

I’ve already stated, for the record, I’ve never been west of Ontario (some Canuck I am). This is not because I don’t want to go west, I just haven’t yet been that way. But I think, more so than British Columbia (sorry Calla), Alberta seems like a place I would like to visit. It’s got Banff National Park, which has mountains and walking room, which I’ve already said I love. It also played host to a wedding that ended in the best album I’ve ever designed. (So far.) Alberta also has the Banff Centre, home to much great theatre and art stuffs. It’s got a mall, which I thought had a petting zoo, but it doesn’t, so let’s not hold that against them. Finally, my dog’s food comes from Alberta. So thanks, Alberta, for keepin’ my dog alive.

As I was looking for 9 artists to share with you, I have to be honest, I was expecting to see a lot of horns. Taxidermy. Leather. Manly bags. Salvaged wood. That sort of thing. I have to say, Alberta–you let me down! Well, not really, but Alberta, I had to wade through a lot of weird (ugly) stuff to get to these nine finds.

1. Wool Seaweed Neck Garland from Peeko Apparel, Calgary, AB.

2. Red and White Damask Car Seat Cozy from Stranded Designs, Red Deer, AB.

3. Distressed Whiskey Leather Wrap Bracelet from Broken English Leather, Calgary, AB.

4. Snowballs Oxidized Silver Earrings from Frog Princess Designs, Edmonton, AB.

5. “Boho-Chic” Knotty Girl Scarf from Dollface DeVille, Cold Lake, AB.

6. Hoot Greeting Cards from Crafted by Lindy, Calgary, AB.

7. “Do the Robot” Baby Shoe from Little Jumping Beans, Calgary, AB.

8. Yellow Agate and Silver Drop Earrings from Splurge, Calgary, AB.

9. Modern Nana Lace Coral & Turquoise Earrings from Rozzie Jewelry Calgary, AB.

Next week–Saskatchewan, and, as a personal challenge–nothing blue, red, or yellow.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. calla said, on March 10, 2010 at 7:38 am

    I love the neck garland! And I love Alberta too.

  2. Daniel said, on March 10, 2010 at 10:52 am

    For all of Alberta’s faults (and there are many) I have yet to find another place I would like to live. There is no shortage of horns and taxidermied animals here. They must just be keeping them for themselves instead of putting them up for sale.


Leave a Reply

