TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Draft Dodger, Part 1

Posted in crafty, sewing by Allie on February 10, 2010

I. WHEREIN TINYPANTS ATTEMPTS TO SEW THE ARTFUL DODGER AND WASHABLE COVER AND FATE KICKS HER SQUARELY IN THE….

So, you noticed. No tutorial. Allow me to explain.

a. See, this…

this is not the problem. Sewing a closed draft dodger stuffed with rice is easy-peasy. It takes about 5 minutes (plus about 18 min to sweet up all the rice that is now scattered all over your kitchen). But that huge lock up there has created some problems. The regular 3 1/2-4 1/2″ tall dodger is no match for the wind that blows up and around that lock! Do I make the thing taller? So it leans a bit on the floor and the door? Well normally, I could make these decisions, but yesterday Buddy-o was only so happy with Daddy-o before he was cranky for Mummy-o, and hence Mummy-o was not having a easy time thinking straight through her crafting.

b. Wanting a washable cover is also not so bad!

But having a little flap cover thing? Normally, it’s super easy!–as long as you’re sewing up both side seams. But, clever me, I chose to save myself some time (HA!) and fold over this fabric and only sew one seam, and that just made the situation too much for my sleep-deprived brain to handle yesterday.

c. I can fix it. That’s not a problem. But, if you’re a perfectionist, like I foolishly am, trying to ensure it doesn’t immediately scream MISTAKE, well–that–CAN YOU BELIEVE?!–kept me up at night. I can’t believe I’m posting this right now! If y’all ever come to my house–DO NOT look at the draft dodger! Nothing to see here! Avert your eyes!

Around here, when we’re cranky, the only thing that makes us happy is some Lead Belly.

So, I’ve got him playing, and I’m going to step away from a the draft dodger for a bit.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

