TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Stuffed with Fluff

Posted in baby, crafty by Allie on February 5, 2010

Today, another project from Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby— a little stuffed, easy-for-baby-to-hold toy/rattle. I think I’ll call him Gus. Hubby says he looks like a reindeer; I say he’s a giraffe. Either way, he’s cute, and Mr. S loves jamming him into his mouth.

Yet again, as the name of the book suggests, a very easy craft. If I didn’t have to fuss with the slip stitch closure, I would have been done in a half hour. Next time I’ll be sure to leave enough material at the bottom to leave a large portion folded under for easier sewing. I was actually considering sewing it closed with a zig zag stitch, and then finishing up with some embroidery to match the eyes and nose.

I put a bell in it, but because of the all the stuffing, the sound is muffled, so it actually just produces a dull plastic rattling. It needs to be a bell inside of a ball–something that would work in a dog toy. Next time I think I’ll just skip the bell altogether. This is a great way to use up scraps, which I think I will do and make a little army of giraffes for Mr. S.

On a related note, I’ve heard you can stuff toys with dryer lint. Does anyone have any experience with this? Can you wash it?

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] toys are his tag blankie, Sophie, his wooden camera, his Fisher-Price ring thing, spoons and the giraffe I made him. Close seconds: the box his blocks go into, the cube I sewed for him, and this jungle […]


Leave a Reply

