TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Tag Blankie

Posted in crafty by Allie on February 1, 2010

It’s Februrary; it’s chilly; we’re all trying to maintain a sense of organization and productivity after our initial resolution fever. I didn’t make any specific resolutions this year, but I got a new phone and a renewed appreciation for Google Tasks; I can see no better way to beat the February blues than to settle into winter with some fabric, wool, needles, and my sewing machine. I’m getting some stuff done.

From Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing for Baby, the tag blankie is an easy, quick, cute craft to make for your little one–I made mine in under an hour while Samson was in his crib, occupied with his mobile. It’s especially good for babies that are just learning to grab things–they aren’t co-ordinated enough to properly grab toys, but will quite successfuly grab at their bib, their blanket, or your hair (ouch!). Samson lights up when he sees his, and talks to it for…well not hours, we’re talking about a BABY here–but solid minutes are happily spent chatting with this thing. It’s also great to drape over the back seat so he has something to look at when he’s in his carseat, and to stuff in your purse for a distraction when you’re on the go.

I made mine out of a printed cotton that’s mostly black and white, because Samson’s most drawn to that combination, but I brightened it up with multi-coloured ribbons (rather than the monochromatic ribbon combination Lotta used). I repeated the coloured ribbons on each side in a different order, but anchored it all with a thicker ribbon in the corners in a yellow that matches the cotton. It’s washable and goes in the dryer. It’s definitely something I would include as a gift for a new mom.

People constantly ask us where we bought it. Make yourself one too, and you’ll be able to say proudly: I made it myself.




One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] S’ favourite toys are his tag blankie, Sophie, his wooden camera, his Fisher-Price ring thing, spoons and the giraffe I made him. Close […]


Leave a Reply

