TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Day 7

Posted in baby, Parenting by Allie on October 1, 2009

The sauropodlet’s 7 days old today.

I feel strangely cut off from the outside world–I haven’t had a chance to call the great-grandparents yet, and feel as though I’ve been slow to post pictures where Samson’s not all bruised up from labour and rashy from hospital linens. I was sure we’d be getting up early with a newborn, but instead sleeping in short bursts actually just extends the night into late morning. I’ve been unable to show off my baby to the regulars at the beach because we make it there about 2 hours later than I normally would.

So, I was thinking about this today, and I just had to get to blogging, because I hate the idea of people thinking they’re not hearing from us because we’re freaking out over here and just aren’t coping. The most common piece of advice I’d been getting from new (or newish) parents when I was pregnant was–it’s an adjustment. I would say, “I can imagine.” And they would shake their head at me like–oh, just wait. You have no idea. So before Peanut came, I was careful not to feel too confident. On the one hand, I’ve always heard that having a newborn is hard, and figured millions of people can’t be faking their exhaustion. But on the other, something hubby and I don’t talk about in public too much because we know we’ll be looked at askance–this little being is going to be eating, sleeping, pooping, and sometimes he’ll just *cry* because he feels overwhelmed or lonely or whatever. Sounds kind of like taking care of a dog. Once you go through an intial frustrating time figuring out your baby’s cues, seriously–how hard can it be? Actually the greatest piece of advice, the one that I clung to was something my mom said in passing when she was offerring to come help us in the early weeks of Peanut’s life. She told me that at the beginning it really seems like you have a lot of work, but later you look back on the first weeks of your infant’s life and realize all he ever does is sleep, and you wonder why you found it so hard.

So the best thing we could have done was we went into this with a healthy attitude. We didn’t buy a lot of fancy gadgets (remember, we’re cheap), things that people say you can’t live without, saying to ourselves that if we’re mistaken, and we really do need a wipe warmer, or a baby monitor, or a nursing pillow, we’ll just go out and get them (or if we’re so desperate send someone to buy them). We didn’t have a 100% finished baby room, we invested in slings rather than places to put baby down. We read just enough to be informed, but knew that in the end, our best advice will be from experienced helpers, like our midwives. I got angry when I was sent a sample of formula–I didn’t want this “easy way out” to taunt me. We agreed we may encounter problems along the way, but decided to tackle them when we got to them, rather than worrying about them before. I just couldn’t concede the point that I’ll not soldier on, stubborn as I always am, and prove that I can do this, and even if I can’t make it look easy, I will at least be able to drag myself out for a latte once in a while. 

Again, we’re doing really well.

We’ve been on a walk every day since we came home Saturday, we’re taking visitors as they invite themselves, and we’re managing to keep ourselves clean and groomed. We’ve been keeping up with laundry and tidying the house. Sure, we’re sleep deprived, but we sleep in 2-3 hour bursts, so it really doesn’t feel that bad. We’re being productive!–today we made a trip to the grocery store, out to the beach with the dog, and to a baby store to buy a nursing bra. Yesterday we had a big photoshoot with Peanut’s Auntie Calla, and hubby’s been getting quality work done on his assignments for class. We’ve been watching Lost. Sauropolet’s 8lbs, up from the 7lbs 6oz he weighed in at the hospital on day 2, which means I’m feeding my baby well. He nurses every 2-3 hours and I’ve been enjoying it so much that I’ve been talking to hubby about continuing until he’s at least one, and I’ve started reading articles on getting back to work without pumping. I’ve had frustrating moments, but we work through them. We’ve figured out his dislikes and know how to comfort him through them. We wear him and are able to feed ourselves, and just generally get stuff done. 

Funny that all this has happened in 7 days.

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5 by you.

Day 5 by you.

Day 6 by you.

Day 6 by you.

Anyway, kids, I’m sure some of you are dying to know what went on in the birth, and I will post about that soon, but right now I have some Lost to watch.

Posted via web from TinyPants’ Posterous

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

