TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Soup

Posted in Uncategorized by Allie on June 1, 2009

You’ve heard me go on about our coonhound’s oral hygiene before. We haven’t really had much success in that department, and at the last visit to the vet, we got a quote for dental cleaning that made me a bit woozy. Ouch. Not going there. Not now.

Addie could have clean teeth if she just chewed for longer than the 30 seconds she’ll oblige you when you shove something towards her. That is, if she even attempts to oblige you. Often she just barks and pushes the bone away–she regularly has arguements with her bones that we know nothing about. When we moved into the new digs she found a real bone in the backyard that provided some much needed scraping for a few weeks, but soon it turned into the same old story.

If Addie could just put in 15-20 minutes a day on anything, her teeth would sparkle. I’ve tried everything, and the trials have not been cheap. I’ve bought all the gadets, I’ve tried all the bones–different types, textures, makes. We’ve tried edible, non-edible, soft, hard, nubbly, stringy, rubber….everything. She needs something else, but I’m determined not to spend any more money.

So today, I made soup.

I bought 10 drumsticks.

On sale! Check it: $2.28! (Okay, so I spent a little bit of money.)

I took 5 of them, put them in water, added a bay leaf, and brought everything to a boil. Then I reduced the heat and dropped in all of Addie’s hard nylabones (and the real bone she found in the backyard).

After it simmered for a while, I turned down the heat, and when it cooled slightly, I dropped in all of Addie’s soft nylabones. (Notice the green one is entirely untouched, despite being about 6 months old!)

I let the soup cool some more, then I took out the real bone. I let it cool. I gave it to Addie…………………………………………………

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

SHE’S BEEN CHEWING FOR 43 MINUTES!!! (…and counting!)

I’m so proud.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. leharlot said, on June 1, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Haha what a genius idea and a happy Coon, excellent.

  2. hellamean said, on June 1, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Yay Addie! I knew you could do it munchkin!

  3. calla said, on June 2, 2009 at 1:05 am

    i love the last shot. it’s like “excuse me, i am busy chewing. leave a message, mommy”


Leave a Reply

