TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Sippy Cup

Posted in Uncategorized by Allie on February 11, 2009

Do you have a sippy cup? Some utensil you have to eat with otherwise the food just won’t taste the same? I do.

My sippy cup was a find at Winners. It’s Dutch, very small–kid size, really–and it holds just the right amount of coffee, so that I can drink it before it gets cold before I refill.  I had another favourite cup before this one, which I still revert to when this one’s in the dishwasher. It’s also small, and…stolen. From a cafeteria. Diner/cafeteria coffee cups are always the best–you don’t notice that the cup is small because they just keep refilling it for you. This one has the same proportions, but it’s just a bit prettier, first thing in the morning.

I have favourite forks too.

The one on the top, with the faux-wood handle, is my long-standing favourite. It was found by my dad on a camping trip–just laying in the dirt where our tent was to go. I love its long tines. Long tines on forks really make or break a utensil set for me. When I finally found a set I liked when Hubby and I first moved in together, I immediately bought two sets, just in case.

The fork on the bottom was stolen for me by a friend from a banquet hall. It’s a silver dessert fork. Its tines are not as pointy as the other fork, so it takes second place, but it’ll do in a pinch. It’s especially good for eggs and bacon, and for coleslaw.

Really, what make these my favourites is that they don’t match anything else we have. Addie’s favourite toys are ones that she’s found somewhere in the backyard or at the park–toys that belonged to someone else, got all stinky with some really good, quality smells. To a hound, that’s just the best thing that could happen. This toy’s been places.

When I was buying my “sippy cup”, there was another one on the shelf. I asked hubby if maybe I should buy the other one so we could start a mini set. “But then you won’t like it anymore,” he said. And he was right.

Leave a Reply

