TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

It’s been a while.

Posted in Uncategorized by Allie on May 5, 2008

A few things that have been happening around here:

Today:

The bi-law officers have started a crackdown on off-leash dogs in the on-leash area of Sherwood Park after a blind woman’s service dog got attacked. FINALLY! I’ve been going hoarse all winter and spring yelling at people and their dogs who charge Addie as she and I are walking or running past. While it’s true that I could rename this blog Pignolo*, I’m quite decent and don’t yell at any random dog that’s off leash when they should be on leash. If your dog is well behaved enough to stay away from me and my dog, I leave you alone. But when I can see before you can that your dog is stalking my dog, you say nothing, and then he charges, oh you better believe I’m saying something. It’s most often just a polite, though annoyed, “Your dog is supposed to be on leash here.” If you come back with some lame excuse like, “They’re just dogs” or “My dog’s friendly” or if you argue with me that in fact this area of the park is off-leash when you’re standing under a sign that says Please keep your dog on leash, I’ll get a bit nastier, and you might get a ” How do you know mine’s friendly**?” or “Well my dog is not okay.” If your dog has charged my dog, made her yelp with fear and your dog has tripped me and made me change my stride you will get some sort of expletive.

* A law-abiding citizen who finds virtue in their suffering and evil in the most minor transgressions of others.

** For the record, Addie is friendly, she just gets nervous when dogs (especially boys) sniff her bum while she’s clipped on leash or in her halti. If she is on her extendable leash and feels like she has some place to go, she’s fine.

Last week:

Birthday extravaganzas. Hubby and Calla share a birthday–May 1st. We had a few milestones this year–Calla turned 25 and Hubby turned the big, dreaded 30. I don’t think he went through any kind of crisis, but I did keep a steady flow of chocolate and other treats in the house to help with the transition.

We also went out for dinner.

Calla and I went out for breakfast (our favourite meal of the day). She took some amazing shots of yours truly with her amazing D3. drooool. I now get to shoot with her D200. droool.

(^ Not a D3.)

My best Scaredy Squirrel smile.

Just so you don’t think I’m completely vain, here’s a picture of hubby. Also by Ms. Evans.

We tried to be very Canadian and have gelato on a cold day. Apparently the Italians are not as much into eating ice cream on cold days as we are.

So we forced Nathan to go to Demetres. Again. Still. Whatever.

Last month:

I started an Introduction to Industrial Sewing class. I’ve never been formally trained in the things that I can do, so I’m hoping this course (and the ones I will take later) will help me be more efficient and more confident in my skills as a costume designer. It’s been going well.

What it’s like living with a coonhound:

(Calla: Your dog is a freak of nature.)

Addie plays this game with herself where she stands in the sun so the light catches her tag, which she then tries to bite and chase. She has no idea she’s the one making the mysterious “ghost” appear, but she’s damn well gonna make sure it’s having a rough time existing as long as she’s around. It’s hard to get a shot of. I really need video.

(^ I actually managed to catch the light on the couch!)

(^ Under the dog photography.)

Sometimes she does it for so long she forgets it’s dinnertime. Other times she moves on to commenting on mummy’s housekeeping skills by biting at dust in the air.

Up next:

  • TinyPants takes on the challenge of finding The Perfect New York Burger in Toronto while keeping her waist size the same.
9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Johnathan H. said, on May 6, 2008 at 12:31 am

    “TinyPants takes on the challenge of finding The Perfect New York Burger in Toronto while keeping her waist size the same.”

    Impossible.

    I was just down there and I ordered a burger to end all burgers. It was delivered in a plastic container and the grease had soaked through the bottom bun turning it into this goopy bun-paste. It looked like they had grilled the meat with the lettuce, because the lettuce was wilted and oozing some kind of brown slime.

    NEVER AGAIN.

  2. sara said, on May 6, 2008 at 9:54 am

    i hate to say it, but your scaredy squirrel smile’s not nuthin’ on calla’s.
    oh and BTW! we found amazing, amazing burgers after our burger talk on Saturday. The Burger Shoppe at Broadview/Queen. all organic meat, fantastic buns, sharp or smoked cheddar. i’m salivating just thinking about it.

  3. calla said, on May 6, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    I AM UP FOR THE BURGER CHALLENGE!

  4. calla said, on May 6, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    also, i don’t think i’ve ever said your dog is a freak of… oh wait, maybe i have. sorry ’bout that.

  5. Johnathan H. said, on May 6, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Also, the vignetting on most of these pictures really bothers me. Not in any serious way, but… wow.

  6. calla said, on May 6, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    hey johnathan, i’m a bit confused why the vignette on these pictures, and i can only comment on the pictures in this blog that are mine, which is about half, bothers you. please tell us more.

  7. calla said, on May 6, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    i mean, maybe you were vignetted as a child? a dark shadow on the corners that you don’t wish to remember?

  8. Johnathan H. said, on May 6, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Thanks for opening up a wound!
    Ahhh just when I tried to forget!

  9. Scott Pack said, on October 17, 2008 at 3:47 am

    Hubby has an impressively level beard, it seems to stop exactly halfway up his face.

    Mine is far more straggly.


Leave a Reply

