TinyPants — tiny pants. big ideas.

Rutabaga, Part Deux; Addie’s New Bed, Part the First

Posted in Uncategorized by Allie on April 18, 2008

Rutabaga tastes like a combination of squash and sweet potato. +1 for rutabaga.

Does not fall apart in soup like squash. +5 for rutabaga.

Has a pretty yellow colour and thus makes a very Martha-esque soup palette. +7 for rutabaga.

Would taste good roasted. +10 for rutabaga.

RUTABAGA WINS!

***

So, Addie loves her bed. When we got her from the Keswick Animal Shelter we weren’t really thinking they would let us take her home right away, so we were a bit unprepared. On the way home, we stopped at Petsmart and got her all the stuff she needed–including her bed. She picked it out herself. As I was rooting deep on the shelf for a green* one, she lay down on the orangy one I put on the floor so it would be out of my way, and wouldn’t get off. It was hers. That was it.

Two years later, her bed is looking pretty ragged. She never really stretches out, so the centre where she curls up into a tiny timbit-sized ball is wearing thin, and getting pretty grey. So what did mummy do? She bought her a new bed. Fancy! At costco! Addie hated it. Was afraid of it. It now resides at my parents’ house (who do not currently have a dog). Dog beds with cedar chips in them are not for hounds. We considered having the dogs-in-law (hubby’s mom’s dogs) break it in, but decided against it.

Dog beds not at Costco are ridiculously expensive. How much?! 70 dollars?! 150 dollars?! We paid $29 for the one she has now, and it has sponge inside so it never gets misshapen or flat. Obviously, not a hubby-approved purchase.

Hubby: Her bed is fine!

Wifey: No it’s not! It’s GREY in the middle.

Hubby: …but she likes it.

So, I’ve undertaken a project to sew Addie a new cover for her bed. We’ll keep the stinky, hound approved pillow inside, but just change the outside. I bought discounted material during Fabricland’s Happy-Birthday-To-Me Sale. The top will be a antiquey brocadey thing in red, and the bottom will be a tougher, chartreuse canvas. Both 5 dollars a metre.

Hubby: What are you going to do for the zipper?

Wifey: I’m going to reuse the one from her old bed. I’m not paying for a zipper this long.

Hubby (frugally) : This is awesome. It’s like it’s the war.

Hopefully, this will work. Addie was not pleased when the work began.

(Right after this shot she made off with my chalk.)

* Chartreuse, actually. My favourite colour, and the colour of my dining room. I feel as though I’m constantly trying to match things to my dining room.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nathan said, on April 18, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    I didn’t think I was speaking “frugally” but I’ll take your word for it.

  2. calla said, on April 19, 2008 at 8:27 am

    I thought Nathan always speaks frugally.

  3. […] Addie has two beds, and her upstairs one has long been in need of a new cover. Much like the last time, I reused the zipper from the old bed, and used upholstery fabric bought on sale (the top fabric […]


Leave a Reply

